Blueprint Awards 2014 - the winners

Blueprint Award for Critical Thinking 2014

Winner: Terry Farrell

Blueprint Award for Critical Thinking 2014 Winner: Terry Farrell

Last year, leading British architect Terry Farrell was asked by Minister for Culture, Ed Vaizey, to undertake a national review of architecture and the built environment. The first of its kind to look into the industry since Richard Rogers chaired the Urban Design Task Force in 1998, the report was compiled with a panel of 11 experts, including Sunand Prasad, Thomas Heatherwick and Alison Brooks. Published in March this year, recommendations were made across five key areas, from education and apprenticeships to the planning system and cultural heritage. Among many recommendations, the report says Design Review panels should be replaced by PLACE review panels -- using the acronym PLACE to ensure all aspects of the built environment are given equal consideration (planning, landscape, architecture, conservation, engineering). 'What we need are places that put people first, and the best way of achieving this is to have a "big conversation" that must start in schools at the earliest possible age,' says Farrell.


  • Adrian Forty
  • Brian Murphy
  • Carolyn Steel
  • Danny Dorling
  • Douglas Murphy

Return to main article

10 of 10

Progressive Media International Limited. Registered Office: 40-42 Hatton Garden, London, EC1N 8EB, UK.Copyright 2023, All rights reserved.