FX Awards 2018 Winners

The Judging system

The FX International Interior Design Awards is open to architects, designers, clients, and suppliers for interior design projects or products completed or launched between 20 July 2016 and 20 July 2018. The judges are an independent panel of experts who are recruited for a fresh new panel each year, and comprise engineers, clients, architects and designers from many different sectors to reflect our audience tonight.

They were invited on to the 2018 panel because of their experience, opinions, and commitment to design. Judges, and their companies, are not permitted to enter any categories.

Each category us judged by a different panel of judges, so if you haven’t won in one category you could win in another. Because of the large number of entries, and to preserve the integrity of the FX Awards, we use a transparent judging system in which each judge ranks their top six entries in each category before they know who their co-judges are. With up to 10 judges for each of the hotly contested categories, these placings are then scored and added together to confirm the shortlist, and the ultimate winner.

Many thanks to all our judges, who gave up so much of their valuable time and brought their expertise and enthusiasm to the process. Sincere thanks also to Cherrill Scheer, who has acted in an advisory capacity as unofficial chair of the judges.


Bryan O’Sullivan
Bryan O’Sullivan Studio

Established in 2013, The Bryan O’Sullivan Studio design aesthetic brings together multiple influences to create places where people feel at ease and can enjoy the moment, while maintaining a sense of place.

Catherine White
Director, Catherine White Interiors

Catherine is an interior designer working between London and Bermuda. Her practice covers all sectors of interior design, textiles and art, creating exciting and emotive spaces.

Christopher Lee
Managing director – EMEA, Populous

Christopher is one of the world’s leading sports venue designers, having led projects including Arsenal’s Emirates Stadium, Arena das Dunas in Brazil, and the new Tottenham Hotspur Stadium. Populous designs the places where people love to be together.

Chris Peach
Principal director, fdcreative

Chris is the principal director of fdcreative an innovative, independent lighting design consultancy with more than 24 years of experience working on a wide range of projects in the lighting industry.

Debbie Power
Associate director, KSS

Debbie has extensive hospitality experience and leads the KSS creative interior design team on a number of high-profile sports venue projects.

Francesca Gernone
Partner, head of interiors, Fletcher Priest Architects

Francesca joined Fletcher Priest in 2014 as partner and head of interior design. Since then she has grown the team and delivered many important projects for clients such as Google, Derwent London, and the Clubhouse London

Fred Pilbrow
Founding partner, Pilbrow & Partners

A 70-strong architecture and urban design studio, the practice was established in 2013. It is led by partners Fred Pilbrow, Tal Ben-Amar, Keb Garavito Bruhn, Sam Yousif and Gareth Wilkins, and specialises in complex mixed-use projects in sensitive heritage contexts.

Jane Lawrence
Head of interiors, Knight Dragon Developments

Jane is Head of Interiors at Knight Dragon Developments and is working on the regeneration of Greenwich Peninsula. Prior to that she was a director at Conran + Partners.

Jill Entwistle
Editor and author

Jill Entwistle is the executive editor of Lighting (Illumination in Architecture). She is the author of three books on lighting, including Detail in Contemporary Lighting Design (Laurence King), and the editor of the first BCO (British Council for Offices) Guide to Lighting.

Jonathan Manser CEO,
The Manser Practice

The Manser Practice fosters a young and creative design team and has cultivated a reputation for delivering innovative solutions at every scale. Jonathan has more than 30 years’ experience in the design and management of large-scale commercial and residential projects.

Julie Gaulter
Associate, Feilden Clegg BradleyStudios

Julie is an associate at Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios, an award-winning practice with an international reputation for design quality, for pioneering environmental expertise and a progressive architectural approach.

Katy Ghahremani
Director, Make Architects

A director at Make Architects, Katy works across the architecture and interior design teams on both international and UK projects.

Levent Çaglar
Ergonomics consultant

Levent is the key UK expert in the design evaluation of furniture. He works with designers, architects and specifiers to create efficient work environments for the wellbeing of people.

Lewis Taylor
Design director, David Collins Studio

David Collins Studio is the award-winning interior architecture practice that realises creative and inspirational hospitality, residential and retail projects worldwide. It is a globally recognised brand and an expert in contemporary luxury and design.

Luke Miles
Co-founder & creative director, New Territory

Luke is co-founder & creative director of New Territory, an independent innovation and design studio based in London. The studio works across mobility, space and product.

Matthew Kobylar
Director of interiors and workplace strategy, Arney Fender Katsalidis

Arney Fender Katsalidis creates beautiful buildings and inspirational interiors that enable people to live, work and play better. It is a global architecture and interior design firm focused on workplace, residential and hospitality.

Michael Sheridan
Chairman & founder, Sheridan & Co.

Sheridan & Co has worked in the branded world for more than 35 years providing a unique blend of both design and implementation services. It is well qualified to advise on how brands should look and translate into different retail channels.

Oliver Jones
UK general manager, ateljé Lyktan

ateljé Lyktan is a long-established lighting brand that develops, manufactures and markets luminaires for both outdoor and indoor use, deploying Swedish design for public environments and discerning consumers.

Paul Stanley MBA MRICS
Director, Coplan Estates

Coplan is a private limited company that has been operating for over 12 years specialising in delivering mixed-use town centre development schemes in the South East, with a particular focus on Local Authority partnerships.

Paul White
Director, BuckleyGrayYeoman

Formed in 1997, BuckleyGrayYeoman is an award-winning architecture and design practice based in Shoreditch, London. Directed by Matt Yeoman and Paul White, the firm provides pragmatic and deliverable solutions to complex design issues. The practice is listed No 40 in the AJ100 group of the largest architecture practices in the UK.

Simon Thorp
Director, LAPD Lighting Design

Simon is a director at LAPD Lighting Design, an award-winning, freethinking, independent lighting design consultancy established in 2000.

Suzi Winstanley
Partner, Penoyre & Prasad

Penoyre & Prasad creates functional, beautiful and sustainable places through a distinctive, collaborative design process. Suzi brings an inside-out design approach, leading interior design across sectors.

Return to main article

25 of 25

Progressive Media International Limited. Registered Office: 40-42 Hatton Garden, London, EC1N 8EB, UK.Copyright 2024, All rights reserved.