Blueprint Awards 2015: The winners

The winners for the 2015 Blueprint Awards have been announced

The Blueprint Awards's reputation has preceded it this year with an evening bigger and better than 2014's debut event.

Entries flooded in from all corners of the globe from six of seven continents and winners prevailed from five. The international response was incredible, even outing the UK from 10 of 12 possible awards.

The ceremony was held at Village Underground in Shoreditch, London, Thursday 22nd October 2015.

In line with the 2014 event, the awards present winners across 12 categories - nine that are chosen by a panel of esteemed judges and three that are peer-nominated and voted on.

The judges for the event included Rosario Hurtado and Roberto Feo of El Ultimo Grito; Thomas Heatherwick of his eponymous studio; Lyndon Neri of Neri & Hu; Chris Wilkinson of Wilkinson Eyre and more. For the full list of judges and more about their accolades, follow the link under the winners.

One feature at the awards was the famed Number 10 Downing Street door created by Jason Bruges Studio and Benchmark, which held court in the entrance. This playful door is a digital double of the original on Downing Street and captures movements from the inside, translating them as silhouettes and low-resolutions animations to the other side.

Johnny Tucker, editor of Blueprint magazine, commented on the awards:

'In just the second year of the awards we found our international reputation has gone before us and the quantity and quality of the projects we received from all over the globe were nothing short of stunning.'

'However even though the quality was really high certain projects clearly jumped out at the judges, who all went for very similar projects. In fact, in three categories we had a tie and had to bring in more judges to make the final decisions. It was very difficult to separate the cream at the top!'

Congratulations to the winners and the shortlisted practices on their inspirational work. Blueprint magazine sends a big thank you to the judges, all of the sponsors, especially headline sponsor Turkishceramics, without which the event would not be possible.

It's safe to say everyone involved is looking forward to another successful event next year!

Here are the winners of the second Blueprint Awards for architecture and design:


Blueprint Award for Architecture 2015

Winner: Rotor

Read description

Konstantin Grcic

Blueprint Award for Design 2015

Winner: Konstantin Grcic

Read description

Yona Friedman

Blueprint Award for Critical Thinking 2015

Winner: Yona Friedman

Read description

Wolfgang Buttress

Best Public Use Project with Public Funding

Winner: WolfgangButtress, Nottingham, UK

by UK Pavilion Milan Expo 2015, Milan, Italy

Read description

Diller Scofidio + Renfro, New York, US

Best Public Use Project Privately Funded

Winner:Diller Scofidio + Renfro, New York, US

by The Broad, Los Angeles, US

Read description

CHROFI, Sydney, Australia

Best Non-Public Use Project - Commercial

Winner: CHROFI, Sydney, Australia

by Lune de Sang, New South Wales, Australia

Read description

Studio Odile Decq, Paris, France

Best Non-Public Use Project - Residential

Winner: Studio Odile Decq, Paris, France

by Saint-Ange Residency, Grenoble, France

Read description

Department of Architecture co., ltd, Bangkok, Thailand

Best Project by a Small Practice

Winner: Department of Architecture co., ltd,
Bangkok, Thailand

by The Flow, Saen Suk, Thailand

Read description

Clive WilkinsonArchitects, Culver City, US

Best Interior Design Project or Product -- Work

Winner: Clive WilkinsonArchitects, Culver City, US

by The Barbarian Group, New York, US

Read description

Studio mk27, São Paulo, Brazil

Best Interior Design Project or Product -- Leisure

Winner: Studio mk27, São Paulo, Brazil

by Cultura Bookstore, São Paulo, Brazil

Read description

LY N Atelier, London, UK

Best Sustainable Project or Product

Winner: LY N Atelier, London, UK

by Hub 67, London, UK

Read description

Dean Skira for iGuzzini, Recanati, Italy

Best Design Innovation Project or Product

Winner: Dean Skira for iGuzzini, Recanati, Italy

by Trick light

Read description



Read description


1 of 14

Compelo Ltd Registered Office: John Carpenter House, John Carpenter Street, EC4Y 0AN, England. No: 06339167.Copyright 2020 Compelo. All rights reserved.