The Olympic torch, the Duchess of Cambridge's wedding dress and an earthquake-proof table are among the designs nominated for the Design of the Year Award 2012.

The longlist, which goes on show at the Design Museum in London next month, celebrates the quality and diversity of design work from around the world in seven categories: architecture, digital, fashion, furniture, graphics, product and transport.

As well as showing some of the best creative work produced over the last year, many of the nominated designs also give a fascinating insight into the event's and concerns that have dominated the pubic consciousness.

The wedding dress designed by Sarah Burton for Alexander McQueen and worn by the Duchess of Cambridge, for example, represents a significant resurgence in popularity for the British royal family following last year's wedding fever, while the nomination of design duo Ed Barber and Jay Osgerby's Olympic torch reflects the sense of pride many British people feel at hosting the Olympic and Paralympic Games this year.

The news last year was also dominated by natural disasters, conflict and revolution and some of these issues are also evident in the work. In the graphics category, One Thousand Cranes for Japan by design studios Anomaly and Unit9 encouraged donations to help the relief effort after the Japanese tsunami, while in the transport category the T27 Electric Car by Gordon Murray Design responds the growing threat to our environment from greenhouse gasses.

As in previous years, the longlist includes a strong furniture category including Bethan Laura Wood's Moon Rock Tables, Jasper Morrison's Lightwood chair, and Waver, a chair by German designer Konstantin Grcic.

London-based Barber Osgerby has three nominated designs across two categories: the Olympic torch, Tip Ton Chair and Ascent, an exhibition of lighting and furniture, which took place at the Haunch of Venison Gallery in London last year.

Previously known as the Brit Insurance Design Award, the Design of the year Award was established in 2008 and previous winners include a folding plug and an energy saving light bulb. Category award winners and the overall winner of the Design of the Year Award 2012 will be announced at an Awards event in April 2012.

The nominated designs will be on show at the Design Museum in London from 8 February.