Blueprint Awards 2019 Winners Announced!

Blueprint Award for Critical Thinking 2019

Winner: Keller Easterling

Blueprint Award for Critical Thinking 2018 - Keller Easterling

Nominated by our Judges, voted for by Blueprint readers

Keller Easterling is an architect and writer and is currently professor of architecture at Yale University in Connecticut. Her writing focuses on issues of urbanism and architecture and in particular how they are affected by globalisation.

She earned her degrees from Princeton in New Jersey and has also taught architectural design and history at Parsons, The Pratt Institute and Columbia University, all in New York.

Easterling is a 2019 United States Artist Fellow in Architecture and Design. Her research and writing on ‘the floor’ was one of the Rem Koolhaas Elements in his 2014 Venice Architecture Biennale. Her MANY project, an online platform facilitating migration through an exchange of needs, was exhibited at the 2018 Venice Architecture Biennale, curated by Yvonne Farrell and Shelley McNamara, who picked up the 2018 Blueprint Award for Critical Thinking.

Her most recent book, Extrastatecraft: The Power of Infrastructure Space, looks at ‘global infrastructure as a medium of polity’ and she is currently working on a book entitled Medium Design, which ‘inverts an emphasis on object and figure to prompt innovative thought about both spatial and non-spatial problems


Eva Franch i Gilabert
Nigel Coates

Return to main article

8 of 14

Compelo Ltd Registered Office: John Carpenter House, John Carpenter Street, EC4Y 0AN, England. No: 06339167.Copyright 2020 Compelo. All rights reserved.